The UP Textile Technology Institute (formerly known as GCTI) Kanpur has organized a One Day Online Hackathon on Design and Performance of Components of PPE for Fighting against COVID- 19, jointly with University Institute of Chemical Technology, KavayitriBahinabai Chaudhari North Maharashtra University, Jalgaon, supported by AKTU, Lucknow, under the aegis of TEQIP III. The program was held on 1st May 2020, from 10:30 am to 2:30 pm, on Zoom online platform with support from AKTU, Lucknow.

The program was inaugurated with the words of Prof. Mukesh Kumar Singh, Director,UPTTI Kanpur followed by address by Prof. Vinay Kumar Pathak, Vice-chancellor, AKTU and Er. Sushil Kumar Gupta, Chairman BOG, UPTTI, Kanpur.

Prof. Ashwini Kumar Agrawal, HOD, Department of Textile & Fibre Engineering, IIT Delhi, Dr. Raju Kumar Gupta, Assoc. Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, IIT Kanpur,Dr. Swati Mishra, Oregon Health & Science University, Oregon USA delivered their expert talks. Prof. J. B. Naik  Director, NMU, Jalgaon, Dr. Anurag Srivastava, Ex. Group Director DRDO, Prof. Prashant Vishnoi, Dr. Kaushik Bal and Dr. Geetanjali Kaushik were the other present in the occasion as experts along with, faculty members, students, and industry experts.

The online Hackathon had focused on the Protection of people from the epidemic of Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID -19). The theme was centralized on the Personal protection equipment, awareness about Biological Protection, performance & reliability of PPEs, and Supply Chain of PPEs. Among the received total of 70 abstracts, from various organizations across India only 15 were selected for online oral presentation.

Selected research students and professionals presented the idea on the Hackathon 2020.

Govind K. Patil of UICT Jalgaon, Ms. Vaissnavi Devi P of KCT, and Gyana Ranjan Beheraof NITJ secured positions in Amateur Category.

In Professional Category:  Dr. Pintu Pandit of NIFT Patna, Dr. Ankur Saxena of NIFT Jodhpur , Ms. Neha Mulchandani, of CHS, Nirmala Niketan, Mumbai were selected as winners.

Dr. Supriyo Chakraborty Asst. Prof. UPTTI, Dr.Subhankar Maity, Asst. Prof. UPTTI, Dr. Rajkumar Sirsam Assoc. Prof UICT, Jalgaon, organized and coordinated the entire program nicely under the leadership of Prof. MukeshKumar Singh.