In the middle of the global health crisis, the fashion industry has had
to decide the best course of action that wouldn’t leave safety behind.   
New York Fashion Week has thus gone digital for the Spring 2021 season, with brands using online channels to highlight their collections. Even America’s Council of Fashion Designers has had to make adjustments to its programming.
In July, the trade association revealed that the 2020 edition of the ceremony (called “fashion prom”) would focus solely on awarding the top fashion creatives in American womenswear , menswear, accessories, and emerging talent along with global design, instead of its CFDA Fashion Awards gala. Today the CFDA has kept its promise,
announcing the winners through its online site, Runway360.

“Since 1981, the CFDA Fashion Awards has recognized the best in fashion creativity,” said Tom Ford, chairman of the CFDA, in a pretaped video. “But 2020 has been anything but typical, and we decided to forgo the in-person event, and instead announce the winners here today at the beginning of New York Fashion Week. Not having a gala allows us to focus on supporting designers during the global pandemic and redirecting our efforts towards scholarships, and brings racial equity to fashion. For this year only, we decided to focus exclusively on our designer nominees.”

American Womenswear Designer of the Year: Gabriela Hearst

Nominees: Marc Jacobs, Tom Ford, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, and Brandon Maxwell.

Gabriela Hearst

American Menswear Designer of the Year: Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss

Nominees: Thom Browne, Emily Adams Bode for Bode, Todd Snyder, and Tom Ford.

Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss

American Accessories Designer of the Year: Telfar Clemens for Telfar

Nominees: Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, Gabriela Hearst, Stuart Vevers for Coach, and Jennifer Fisher for Jennifer Fisher Jewelry.

Telfar Clemens for Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year: Christopher John Rogers

Nominees: Peter Do, Kenneth Nicholson, Reese Cooper, and Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto for Staud.

Christopher John Rogers

Global Women’s Designer of the Year: Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino

Nominees: Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta, Dries Van Noten, Miuccia Prada for Prada, and Rick Owens.

Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino

Global Men’s Designer of the Year: Kim Jones for Dior

Nominees: Craig Green, Dries Van Noten, Jonathan Anderson for Loewe, and Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton.

Kim Jones for Dior

SOURCE: HarpersBazaar